Schlagwörter

, ,

Sorry no. Not what you’re thinking of obviously. I am talking about place names…duh 🙂 Why I am writing about them? Just today I found this really interesting one:

Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch

That’s a place name, huh? Obviously that’s a place in Wales who else would put so many L’s and wy’s in one word? 🙂 Though I really have no clue at all how you want to pronounce it. Good old Wikipedia suggests this:

[ɬan.ˈvair.puɬ.ˌɡwɪn.ɡɘɬ.ɡo.ˌɡer.ɪ.ˌχwɪrn.ˌdro.buɬ.ˌɬan.tɘ.ˈsil.io.ˌɡo.ɡo.ˈɡoːχ]

Right… not really helping. Enjoy practicing though. I take no responsbility for broken tongues or something like that.

P.S.: If you’re done with this one try:
Gorsafawddacha’idraigodanheddogleddollônpenrhynareurdraethceredigion (former name of a trainstation in Wales)

Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateaturipukakapikimaungahoronukupokaiwhenuakitanatahu (Maori name for a mountain in New Zealand)

